Skip to main content
Service Icon


Welcome to the Department of Chemistry of the University of Ibadan, the Premier University in Nigeria. The Department was established in 1948 as one of the foundation Departments of the University of Ibadan. The Department has grown from its humble beginning to its present state of being not only the oldest Chemistry Department in Nigeria but also the best and the largest.

The Department is a service Department to all science-based faculties in the University and offers degree leading to B.Sc., M.Sc., M.Phil and PhD. The Department has graduated thousands of students since inception and graduates of this Department have provided skilled manpower for most Universities in Nigeria, and continue to contribute to the development of the nation in many areas of industry, research and government establishments.

The Department takes pride in its teaching excellence and its development of distinguished scientists.

With 42 academic staff members (including nine professors), 46 non-teaching staff and over 300 graduate students, the department focuses on the following research areas:

Analytical and Environmental Chemistry

Industrial Chemistry

Inorganic Chemistry

Organic/Natural Product Chemistry

Physical Chemistry

Located along Niger Road, in the University of Ibadan campus, the departmental buildings incorporate both undergraduate and graduate lecture rooms and numerous teaching and research laboratories. The Department also has several workshops including glass-blowing workshop, mechanical workshop, electronic/electrical workshop and carpentry workshop

Professor Bamidele I. Olu-Owolabi

Head of Department of Chemistry