HOD's Profile : Department of Geology





B.Sc. (Ilorin), M.Sc. (ABU), PhD (Ibadan)

Academic Title: Professor

Academic Status: Professor

Specialisation: Economic Geology

Office: Room A 103 Department of Geology

Contant:Tel: +234-8033814070; 08127772278

               E-mail:[email protected]; [email protected];[email protected]



-          DAAD Fellowship, Universitat Tubingen, Institute of Geology 1999 

-          Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola Postgraduate Fellowship, University of Ibadan 2001 

-          International Association of Sedimentologists (IAS) Postgraduate Grant Award 2002 

-          Berkner Fellowship grant by the American Geophysical Union (AGU) 2003 

-          NMGS/TOTAL FINA ELF Best paper Award-Itakpe 2003- 2nd Prize 

-          International Association of Sedimentologists (IAS) Travel Grant Award 2004 

-          NMGS/TOTAL FINA ELF Best paper Award-Maiduguri 2004- 2nd Prize 

-          Chinese Academic of Sciences-TWAS Postdoctoral Award, 2005

-                                  Petroleum echnology Development Fund (PTDF) Research Grant Winner, 2008

-                                  Chinese Academic of Sciences-TWAS Visiting Scholars Fellowship 2008

-                                  University of Ibadan MacArthur Research Grant Winner 2009

-                                  Shell Petroleum Development Company Sabbatical Fellowship 2009/2010

-                                  Chinese Academic of Sciences-TWAS Visiting Scholars Fellowship 2011

Position within/outside University of Ibadan

-          Warden, Kuti Hall

Membership of Learned Societies

-          Registered member, Council of Nigerian Mining Engineers and Geoscientists

-          Corporate member, Nigerian Mining and Geosciences Society

-          Active member, Nigerian Association of Petroleum Explorationists

-          Active member, American Association of Petroleum Geologists

-          Member, The Society of Organic Petrologists

-          Member, Afro-Asian Association of Petroleum Geochemists

-          Full member, International Association of Sedimentologists

-          Corporate member, Nigerian Association of Hydrogeologists


E-mail: [email protected]


Current Research


Recommended Links

Curriculum Vitae